The Digital Journalism Blog


A new tipping method

Posted in Uncategorized by com360bu on October 24, 2012

By John Porter

Date: Oct. 24, 2012

I’ve been a fanatic for Starbucks coffee products for years, but I sure didn’t like reading a blog outlining the coffee giant’s technological move towards leaving gratuities. In fact, you could say I was a little disturbed by the tipping method implemented by Starbucks. I get irritated seeing plastic jars on the counter with a hand-written signs asking for tips.

And now Starbucks has found a unique way to leverage technology to leave ‘digital tips’? Perhaps if they were to bring me my coffee to my table I would gladly leave the customary tip for the delivery of my purchase. But, to stand around and wait for them to brew my coffee and having a lid put on and sleeve around the cup doesn’t justify a legitimate tip.

Tipping by definition is giving a sum of money to someone who serves you as a reward for serving and bringing products to your table. It’s coffee for God-sakes it’s not Kopi Luwak.  And stop trying to guilt me into leaving one in the community tip jar. It’s a shameful and tacky method.

Call me old-fashioned, but I believe a server should be tipped for services rendered. I have no issue with handing a server a tip than using a digital device prompting me to do so. I would rather see the server benefit directly from the tip. Another concern I have with digital tipping concerns the security level in the cloud for financial transactions is not secure.

Until then, I refuse to change my tipping habits.I’m sure the millennial generation will think it’s a great idea, another technological breakthrough to make life easier. And who’s to say that life is supposed to be easy. But, until I can be proven wrong…I’m staying put.

Leave a Reply

